LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting analog outputs to 0

I would like to start by cautioning you that I am not a programmer.  I have been trained in LabVIew basics, so naturally I am trying to write a much more than basic code. 

I am writing a test sequence in which I am using a sequence structure to setup and sequence various test functions. For part of the code I am writing I am trying to control a pressure output, I start the task outside a while loop, I write to the task to control control pressure inside the while loop after leaving the while loop and then stiop the task outside the while loop, but the analog output remains at the last commanded value, how do I set it to 0? 

I have tried writing a constant 0 to the task after I leave the loop and then stoping the task but this does not appear to work. I have a number of analog and digital outputs in this code that I would like to set at 0 before I proceed to the following sequence. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,040 Views)
That should work, any chance of posting your VI?  Or a sanpshot of the loop section?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,034 Views)

First, I would recomend that you abandon the sequence structure. It's just one of those things that should seldom be used. A state machine is much better. You would simply have a stop state that sets the outputs the way you want.

Second, if you are writing a value to the task in one part of your code, writing a 0 to it another part should be no different and in fact is the correct way to set the output(s) to 0. Do you get any errors when you write the 0? Are you sure the task is still active? Can you post your code?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,032 Views)

Again, Dennis was faster than me and again he is correct. Only one comment here:

You hopefully don't stop the VI using "Abort", don't you?

Norbert 

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------