LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial comm issues

Solved!
Go to solution

I am trying to Send DI and AI states / Receive DO and AO states through a microcontroller Serial port ... the microcontroller sends data at 100ms intervals. 

When I run this code the AI and DI states do not update based on user inputs. It only updates once during start of run.  

What is wrong ? 

Raghunathan
LabVIEW to Automate Hydraulic Test rigs.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,190 Views)

Here are some suggestions (partly based on missing specifications on your part or lack of understanding by me):

• If you are simulating an FPGA, don't have an Event Loop.  Replace with a Frame Sequence whose first frame sets all of the variables to their Default value, and the second Frame has the rest of the code.
  • I'm pretty new to FPGA coding, and unfamiliar with incorporating VISA into FPGA (can you do that?).
  • Whether or not VISA belongs inside an FPGA or not, the VISA code "looks wrong".  A lot has been written in the Forums about not using Bytes at Port, but rather setting the VISA port up in its Default Mode (as you have done!) to use a Termination Character, and use the sequence "Write VISA Command, Read Many More Bytes than you expect (i.e. 1000) because you'll stop when you get the Termination Character, and then Process the Entire Response All at Once".  Instead, you give a Command, if there are any Bytes at Port, you read (only) the first 50, accumulating them in a Buffer, then pass that ever-lenghening Buffer out for processing before going back and repeating the process.  I'm not sure if this is as wrong as it seems, but I can't make sense of it.
  • Without a better understanding of the VISA device and its command and response structure, it's difficult to make better suggestions.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,164 Views)
Solution
Accepted by MogaRaghu