From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sending Custom Commands/Queries

Solved!
Go to solution

I need help to send a query (command) to a Lakeshore 331 temp controller in order to read the the zone parameters. From the repsonse, I need to be able to use the numerical data in a function. My initial thought was to use the I/O assistant to send the ZONE? query, but I cannot get it to work properly. This is using a serial 232 connection. Any help is welcome. (I am very new to prgraming so a detailed explaination would be much appreciated). If you have a better idea than using the I/O assistant for this project, please let me know as well. I have been using the Lakeshore 331 Labview drivers but they do not have a zone read function included. The Lakeshore 331's manual is online and its I/O commands are listed in ch. 6 for serial.

Thank You,

Matt  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(2,936 Views)
It would be better for you to attach the manual instead of asking people here to do the searching.

I would not use the assistant. Just use the VISA functions as on the driver or serial examples. Please provide the command you are sending and any error codes/messages.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(2,930 Views)

Like I said, I don't know much about programming, so the command I have been sending is ZONE?. I got that from the manual ( http://www.lakeshore.com/Documents/331_Manual.pdf ) in 6-17. How would you recommend using the visa write/ read?

Thanks,

Matt

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(2,903 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author MattEntner