LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Searching a specific value from an excel file(.csv or xls) using labview without activeX

Hi everyone, 

I am quite new to labview. I was wondering if there is any way to search a specific value in an excel file using labview. For instance, 

name age

x         10

if I have a file containing the above information, I want to search for x and get 10 in return.

I would upload a picture or the code, but I am still in the designing my code phase so I dont have either. I was thinking about the potential possible ways to do this without using activeX. 

Thanks for the help,

Kaawn

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,638 Views)

Two suggestions:

1. Use a database (MySQL, MSSQL Express, etc) instead of Excel but you will still be relying on ActiveX.  Is there a reason you want to avoid ActiveX?
  2. Store this data as a CSV file, not an XLS file.  At a minimum, you can read the values into an array and search for the entry you need.  There are other methods that may be more efficient, depending on the number of entries in your dataset. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,601 Views)

There are several Third-Party-Toolkits available on the Toolsnetwork, that can read or write excel files (xlsx and partially xls) without relying on the ActiveX methods provided by a installed Excel program.

Regards, Jens

Kudos are welcome...
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(2,599 Views)

Hi Aputman,

There is no specific reason behind not using activeX. I am just trying to figure out if there is any other way around it. Also does activeX work with all the versions of labview. I am using labview 8.0. I am quite new to labview, so if labview 8.0 does support activex, would you guide me on how to make that work for my problem?

Thanks,

Kaawn

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(2,591 Views)

Hi Jens,