From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Saving values from dial to a variable - new user.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am learning LabView so I can one day control a syringe pump via serial connection, and perhaps more.  I am just starting out, so please bear with me.  I am writing a program that simulates a combination lock.  My goal is to have the user input the first number using a dial, press a button to save it, then repeat using the same dial for numbers two, three... n.  Once all n numbers are saved the program will compare what was inputted vs. the set values.  If true a light will turn on, if false nothing happens.

I am struggling with the saving numbers to a variable step.  I am proficient in Matlab and I think I am trying to solve this problem in terms of Matlab.  Any suggestions for this issue, or how to learn LabView in general?  I did watch the tutorial videos from NI.

Many thanks,

Andrew 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,549 Views)

@athiggins wrote:

Hi,

I am learning LabView so I can one day control a syringe pump via serial connection, and perhaps more.  I am just starting out, so please bear with me.  I am writing a program that simulates a combination lock.  My goal is to have the user input the first number using a dial, press a button to save it, then repeat using the same dial for numbers two, three... n.  Once all n numbers are saved the program will compare what was inputted vs. the set values.  If true a light will turn on, if false nothing happens.