LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Save JPG images faster

Good evening,

I have developed a labVIEW code to take and save images as fast as the camera allows.

The camera runs at 35Hz and is definitely taking images at 35 Hz, however, labVIEWs not saving the images at 35 images per second. It's actually saving images at about 20-22 images per second. Is there a way to help labVIEW save the images faster (35 ips)?

I am also new to producer/consumer loops and may have messed up a wiring.

USB-3 connection, camera: Basler acA2440-35um

Thank you for your time and help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,203 Views)

Hi Johnny,

Channels and queues serve very similar functions, you do not want to use both of them.

The image data type is a bit strange, and it is actually a reference. For this reason, you cannot simply pass the image to the consumer loop, because the data the image refers to is constantly changing. 

I happen to have a 5MP USB camera at my desk that streams at ~35 FPS. If I save images in the same loop as the acquisition it adds a little bit of jitter, but then I know I am saving every image. I do have an SSD though, so your results may vary.

You can also convert the image to a data array and then pass the data array to the consumer loop. I'll attach an example of that.

Message 2 of 17
(3,181 Views)

@JohnnyDoe771 wrote:

Good evening,

I have developed a labVIEW code to take and save images as fast as the camera allows.

The camera runs at 35Hz and is definitely taking images at 35 Hz, however, labVIEWs not saving the images at 35 images per second. It's actually saving images at about 20-22 images per second. Is there a way to help labVIEW save the images faster (35 ips)?

I am also new to producer/consumer loops and may have messed up a wiring.

USB-3 connection, camera: Basler acA2440-35um

Thank you for your time and help!