LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Save 16-bit BMP as 24-bit BMP

Hello,

I am not very experienced when it comes to image processing,

I am trying to acquire an image from my 12-bit camera.  I have done this successfully; it gets turned into a signed 16-bit image, which I would like to save as a 24-bit BMP.  For some reason, IMAQ does not allow me to write to file as a BMP.  I get an invalid image type error.  I messed around and wrote to file as a PNG and named the file *bmp, however, I am concerned that the image is being compressed/losing data.  Ultimately, I will feed these images into a program I wrote that works with the images as 2D arrays.

So,

1. What is the best way to save the files as a BMP.

2. How can I make these BMPs 24-bit instead of the automatic 16-bit signed they are.  The code I have already works with 24-bit images only.

Many thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,124 Views)

PNG is basically a compressed BMP, a 24-bit GIF, it's non destructive. You cannot, however, just change the file extension! It's a description for the system how to interpret the file, it doesn't change the file. It's the equivalent of measuring your waist in inches instead of centimeters, sure the number is lower, but you're not any smaller.

Some programs are smart enough to realize it's actually a PNG and open it as such, others will try to read it as a BMP and it'll be severely corrupted.

If you can get the Image data you can use the ordinary picture-functions to save it as BMP.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
Message 2 of 7
(5,120 Views)

Hmm, so I got the array as an unsigned 16 bit, but the standard write to BMP does not support writing a 16 bit.  If I write it as a 24 bit it looks wrong (obviously)

How can I save the BMP as a 16 bit and also work with the raw data?  The bmp to array VI doesnt support it 😞

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7