LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running multiple VIs?

Hi all!

I am still quite new to LabVIEW and I want to achieve listed below.

I have 3 different VIs:

1) VI 1 and 2 need starts simultaneously

2) Both VI 2 and 2 each contains a while loop internally

3) VI 3 is required to start after a time delay after starting of VI 1 and 2

4) All 3 VIs are stop after VI 3 complete its execution

Is it correct if I just simply put VI and VI 2 on the main VI for them to start together?

What can I do for 3) and 4)?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,479 Views)

3) How precise does the 1s timing have to be?

Assuming that timing can be a bit relaxed, here's one possibility, using Flat Sequence Structures and a Global Variable:

sequence.png

After the top-left frame completes, VI1, VI2 and the timer should start at almost the same time (this cannot be guaranteed, however). The timer then waits for 1.5s (a bit more than required, just in case), then VI3 starts running too. When VI 3 finishes, the global "Quit" variable will be set to TRUE. The loops inside VI 1 and VI 2 should monitor this "Quit" variable, and exit their loops accordingly. The "Quit" variable is initialized to FALSE in the beginning, to guarantee that it's not TRUE when VI 1 and VI 2 start.

Note: Be careful with global variables; don't rely on them too much (some people even argue that we should never use global variables at all)

Certified LabVIEW Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,449 Views)

I would consider starting all three subVIs at the same time with the modification to VI3 that it has the Wait internally.  If you bring the wait time out on the connector pane, you could easily change the wait time.