cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Repeat custom analog waveform for DAQ output

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everybody,

thanks for having a look at this. I am a complete LabView Beginner.

I am trying to generate a custom periodic analog signal to output from a DAQ.

I am creating a waveform by concatenating the arrays from a few Signal pattern generators and then running the array through a "Build waveform function". Is this the correct approach?

My problem is that I am unsure how I can repeat this waveform to generate a periodic signal for the output of the DAQ.

In theory the Block "Simulate Arbitrary Signal" does just what I need, but there I cannot adjust the waveform while the program is running.

I have attached a small VI which shows the structure of my program.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Best,

StephanQ

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(910 Views)

Save to an earlier version.  2017 or 2012 will work for everyone.

Message 2 of 5
(877 Views)
Solution
Accepted by StephanQ

Hi Stephan,

@StephanQ wrote:

I am creating a waveform by concatenating the arrays from a few Signal pattern generators and then running the array through a "Build waveform function". Is this the correct approach?

This is a good way to create a waveform.

Keep in mind: a waveform in LabVIEW is a cluster containing not just the sample values (the Y array), but also timing information (t0, dt)! (It also can contain additional attributes…)

@StephanQ wrote:

I am trying to generate a custom periodic analog signal to output from a DAQ.

My problem is that I am unsure how I can repeat this waveform to generate a periodic signal for the output of the DAQ.

In theory the Block "Simulate Arbitrary Signal" does just what I need, but there I cannot adjust the waveform while the program is running.

Why do you want to create the same waveform again and again, when creating it once is good enough?