From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reformat and reainstall LabVIEW RT target

I am using the PXIe-8133 with LabVIEW RTOS.  

I would like to be able to re-create a clean machine; to return it to an out of the box state.

Is there a simple way to do this?  If not, is there a pretty foolproof way to do it?  I am pretty new to LabVIEW RT and I did not set it up in the first place (someone at NI did it and sent it to us ready to go), so I am a bit afraid of doing it wrong and making my system unusable....

If there is already something written to tell me how to do this, I'd be happy to be pointed to the right place.

Thank you.

Batya

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,116 Views)

You can format the RT system and restore to factory settings.

-----

The best solution is the one you find it by yourself
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,113 Views)

How do I do that?   What will I have when I'm finished?  What will I still have to install?

I'm not talking about restoring the BIOS to factory settings.  I want to do something like a reformat and have the working operating system (I have a dual boot machine so I'd rather not mess up the Windows installation and just fully clean and reinstall the LVRT operating system and get rid of anything new, remnants of what I've done, etc.

Thank you.

Batya

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,102 Views)

In MAX, right-click the target in the "Remote Systems" view and select "Format Disk".  This will format the RT partition on the disk to a clean slate - it will not affect the Windows partition (so long as the Windows partition is NTFS).  When rebooted into RT, the target will reboot into LabVIEW Real-Time Safemode.  Then you can install software onto the target from within MAX.