LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recording the time it takes for a counter to increment up to 9999 pulses and then resetting the counter and timer to zero and repeating the process

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to LabVIEW and still learning how to navigate in it.

I am working on a code in LabVIEW FPGA to measure the speed of an induction machine in RPM.

I am using an incremental encoder attached to the shaft of the machine. The encoder has a resolution of 1000 pulses/revolution.

I am getting three signals from the encoder (A,B and Z) however I only intend to use one signal to obtain the pulses that  I need to calculate the speed in rpm. I am however using all three pulses to obtain the rotor angle position (this section of the code works fine).

For the speed measurement, I would like my code in LabVIEW FPGA to do the following:

*Increment the counter when a rising edge has been detected on the input signal (A) which comes from the incremental encoder.

* I would like to count 9999 pulses, after which, the counter should be reset to zero and start counting up again on the next rising edge.

*Keep track of the time when the counter starts incrementing on the very first rising edge.
* Reset the timer when the counter has reached 9999 pulses and start the timer again as the counter starts incrementing to collect the next bunch of 9999 pulses .
So basically I would like to know the time it takes to count 9999 pulses, be it in form of milliseconds/ microseconds or ticks.

After obtaining the time and pulses counted in each instant, I would like to calculate the speed in rpm.

I reckon this should somewhat be simple but I just can't seem to get the timing part of the code working. I have however managed to sort out the counter part of the code.

I'm using the PXI-7813R FPGA card and LabVIEW FPGA 2018 version. I have attached the code that I am working on. 

Thank you.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,126 Views)

Hello,