cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recording number of good/bad parts

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I'm still relatively new to LabVIEW and looking for some help regarding counting the number of good/bad parts in an inspection v.i. I have previously used while loops and for loops for either the good or the bad parts cycle and used the iteration counts of said loops to show the number increasing or decreasing on a vertical slider.

How can i do it in the example i have attached? i tried a few things but only ever increase by 1 when I get the TRUE value. how can i make these values cumulative? Array perhaps? sorry i am still very much a rookie. 

any guidance greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,769 Views)

Hey Newton,

You can use a shift register as the one that you already use in your VI. Something like this colud work :

Newton1878.png

Check the value of your control (TRUE or FALSE) or any of your triggering object, and increment the value in the shift register only if needed 🙂

Hope it helps.

CLAMaxime -- Kudos are a great way to say thank you
Message 2 of 8
(2,752 Views)

@Newton1878 wrote:

I'm still relatively new to LabVIEW and looking for some help regarding counting the number of good/bad parts in an inspection v.i.

Yes, all you need is a shift register, but make sure the count is an integer (blue). It is bad form to use a floating point (orange) number for tracking counts. You should keep track of at least two of three numbers (good/bad/total), the third can be calculated. In this case, you get the "total" directly from [i] of the outer loop, so all you need is count bad or good.

We can see that you are a beginner, because your code has some very questionable code constructs in your existing code. for example.

• that inner while loop in the "stop" case makes absolutely no sense. It does nothing at all.