LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Record measurements from serial device and DAQ with common clock

Solved!
Go to solution

What would be the best way to go about recording two signals, one of which is analog input through a National Instruments DAQ, and the other is through serial VISA access to a USB device, with a common clock?

Here is a more detailed description -- I'm still very new to LabVIEW so I apologize if I'm omitting necessary details, please let me know and I'll include them in a reply:  I have a 4-channel NI DAQ that my group has previously used to sample and record two analog signals. One input comes from a CT scanner and indicates whether the beam is on or off.  The other is the output of a pressure to voltage transducer.  We need both of these signals to have the same sample clock so that we can determine what the pressure measurements were when the beam was on.  This was very straightforward when both signals were coming through the DAQ, however we've recently replaced the transducer with a newer model that connects by USB (OMEGA PX409-USBH).  The transducer has no provisions for timing.  It can be accessed through VISA or as a .NET object.

I am able to access the new transducer through LabVIEW using VISA read/writes, but I'm unsure about how to go about writing a VI that will record the analog input through the DAQ with shared time information.  I need to either force the VISA read to occur as close as possible to the read from the DAQ, or measure both signals independently but record timestamps with a common clock.  Is one of these approaches more straightforward/advantageous than the other?

From other threads I've read, this should be possible using software timing.  Synchronization accuracy to within 10 ms would be ideal, but really anything under 100 ms or so would be acceptable.  In the VI, we are just writing the two signal measurements to a file that can be post-processed later.