LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Real-time audio pitch shifting in Labview?

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to using Labview so am after some help. I am wanting to be able to use Labview to pitch shift inputted audio (from a microphone or from a file) by a specific amount. For example either up or down one musical octave (this would mean doubling or halving the frequency respectively) and then having it output to a speaker in real time (or at least with as little delay as possible). I've worked out how to bring the audio into Labview but am now unsure what would be the best way to do it (or if it even would be possible inside Labview). I have also done a FFT to produce a frequency spectrum of the audio but not sure if this is actually useful.

If anyone has any suggestions for the best course of action to take that would be great.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,538 Views)

I am not sure what your problem is since you do not provide code of what you are trying to achieve.

If your problem is how to double or half the frequency, you can achieve this by simply halving or doubling (respectively) the time step of the sound waveforms. Below is an example of doubling the sound frequency by halving the time step:

Doubled sound input_BD.png

If the provided code does not help, I would suggest that you show us the code (or a simple version of it) that you have written so far to try to solve your problem.

Good luck

Marc Dubois
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,497 Views)