LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Real Time P2P Stream from Digitizer to FPGA

Hi everybody,

I am quite new to LabView and I am currently trying to get my hardware setup running including a PXIe-1082 Reg, a  NI5122 Digitizer and a 7966R FPGA with a NI 6587 front module.

For a simple test I generate a square wave with an external function generator which is connected to the digitizers input and depending on a threshold I want to either write 0x0000 or 0xFFFF on the NI6587 Output.

The communication between the Digitizer and the FPGA is implemented using a P2P Stream and the general comunication between the two cards seems to work.

However if I look at the input and output signal on the scope, I can see that there is quite a big delay between the input rising edge of the square signal and my output of the NI6587 (around 6.5us). My later application requires a much faster response.

The digitizer is supposed to run at 100MHz and the FPGA which is the reader should run at 125MHz.

Does anyone have a clue what could be my problem?

Thanks in advance.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,892 Views)

That seems like valid numbers you are measuring. The bottleneck in your case is the latency introduced by P2P streaming.

"Peer-to-peer transfers are designed to have a very low latency, but it will vary depending on the system configuration.  When streaming only through FIFOs and the PCIe bus the typical latency is around 2-4 μs, though this will likely have occasional an spike into the tens of μs due to other bus traffic.  When streaming from a digitizer we can usually expect around 5 μs of latency and when streaming to an arbitrary waveform generator around 10-20 μs of latency due to onboard buffering."

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/10801/en/

Ran into a similar issue when trying to create a radar jamming system.