LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading power values via serial Modbus RTU power meter (slave) at LabView

Hi all 🙂

I'm kinda new to computer communications and also Modbus. It took me already a month already and still couldn't make it work. After whole other problems that were solved, now I'm dealing with a (probably simple) problem of reading holding registers correctly, and it drives me nuts. I have a power meter (SIMEAS P50 by Siemens) connected to an 3-phase electrical heater. The device has its own parametrization programme and I can read the values from there. So I assume there is no issue about the connection and the configuration of SIMEAS P50. However, I need to read the active power usage in LabView. I'm trying to use ModBus library for this, since I don't have the DSC module. I'm using the small exemplary vi that I made to read out holding registers. I think I only get the initial part of the response from the device. The value shown is always "Register Address X 256". The rest is not visible. I couldn't even come to this post's level: https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/modbus-example-for-receive/td-p/1015357.  What am I missing here?

-I've tried all different supported communication protocols Modbus ASCII and IEC 60870-5-103, but I have the same issue.

- I have tried all Modbus examples on internet and they all give the same issue.

I use LabView 2011.

I'd very much appreciate your help.

Kind regards,

Kaya

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 25
(6,395 Views)

changing the quantity might help

bp
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 25
(6,370 Views)

The vi in itself has no errors and is probably working, provided that you input the correct serial settings, base address and quantity, which I don't know.