LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading data from string, with data in front of the searched substring

Dear All,

I'm relatively new to LabVIEW and currently trying to extract data from a running text.

I have an excel sheet with a huge amount of measurement conditions, which are written in one cell as a fluent text.

The data extraction itself is already working, however, I am not entirely satisfied with the way I get my data when it is in front of a searched string.

An example to make myself more clear:

- When I read the text: "On 20/02 The outside temperature is 20.3°C, which is 2°C colder than today.", then I can easily get the value and the unit of the temperature by searching for "temperature is " with the 'Match Regular Expression Function' and then using the output string 'after match' ("20.3°C, which is 2°C colder than today.") to extract the value 20.3 and the unit "°C" using the "Scan From String Function" with a "search for number" followed by a "search for string".

However, when the data is in front of the search string, I have made a solution that I am not sure about if it is a good way to solve the problem.

This can be seen in the snippet below:

DiscussionForumExample.png

Screenshot_1.png

For this I first search for the substring " speed limit" in the string. Then I take the substring resulting from 'Match Regular Expression Function', which returns the substring BEFORE the search result. In this case the later substring is "There is a 120km/h". Then I invert this, so the unit comes first (but inverted) followed by the inverted number in string format. After that I invert both the unit and the string formatted number back. Then I convert the string formatted number into a real number.

As it seems to me, this is a weird solution to an easy problem.

Anyone suggestions of how I can take on this problem in a more efficient/better/clearer way?