From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading a Binary File - Access Error

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to the NI discussion board and had a basic question about using Labview to read a binary file.

For my application I need Labview to gather a single value (pulse width) from a custom program that is written in C++. Currently this value is stored in a temporary binary data file. I will be running Labview and the custom program simultaneously.

Is it possible to read a binary file using Labview while the file is being written to by another program? Right now I'm getting an access error. I'm using a basic Read Binary code from the Labview example library.

Thanks for any suggestions!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,659 Views)

You won't be able to if the other program is putting a lock on the file while it has it open.  Which it what it sounds like it is doing by the error you are getting.  The other program will have to close the file before your LabVIEW program will be able to open it.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,656 Views)

@Ravens Fan wrote:

You won't be able to if the other program is putting a lock on the file while it has it open.  Which it what it sounds like it is doing by the error you are getting.  The other program will have to close the file before your LabVIEW program will be able to open it.

I dont think it would be easy for the other application to close the file as I would have to time it with whenever Labview wants to acces it. Although labview has an access error, I am able to make a copy of the file in windows explorer then have labview read that copy. Is there a way to have Labview perform this action autonomously every time it wants to access the data?