cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading Zeros From an Empty DMA FIFO

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am having a problem using the DMA FIFOs to communicate between my real-time system and my FPGA. I'm using two DMA FIFO's, one to go to the FPGA from the RT system and then vice versa. I can successfully get data to and from each system; however, before, after, and sometimes inbetween my data, I will get a seemingly random assortment of zeros. In the lastest version of my code (which I have provided) I read the number of elements stored in the DMA FIFO and them read only that number to my RT system in an attempt to get only the data I want and not zeros, but that doesn't work either.

I am new to both real-time and FPGAs and so it definitely feels like I am missing something very basic. I have tried grappling with this issue by myself though and have had absolutely no success and would appreciate any and all help.

My hardware includes:
A Dell laptop (used as a UI host)
1082 Chassis
8133 Controller (running LabView RT OS)
7965R FPGA
5781 Adapter Module for FPGA (not currently in use)

LabView 2014 SP1

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,012 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author RyanTheEngineer

On the RT Side, you should use a case structure so that you do not read from the FIFO if there is no data available.

I would also change that network stream to be inside of your While loop so that the UI can get each data point as it comes in (connect before the loop, close after the loop, and write as the data comes in inside of the loop).  This will save you memory (which is VERY important in an RT system) since you do not have to build up the array.