LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading Data from MS5803-05BA via myRIO

Dear all

I am new in using Labview and myRIO, I need to read data of 4 barometer sensors (MS5803-05BA) via SPI interface.

I have connected SDI pin of the sensor to the MISO of myRIO and SDO pin of the sensor to the MOSI and SCKL is connected and each chip select pin is connected to a Digital Output pin of the myRIO. According to the datasheet (attached) the sensor should send data  when the chip select is low, hence I have made one of them as "false" and rest to "true", and converts the frames read data to unsigned bits, the only output is 255 for it.

I cannot figure out what is the problem?

The Code is attached

I appreciate if anyone would have any suggestion or idea what is wrong?

Cheers

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,461 Views)

Hello Everyone

I ma trying to communicate with the MS5803-14BA sensor,via SPI protocol using myRIO.

The only output that I get is 255, which I do not know what is wrong.

Does any one have any idea what can be wrong?

my VI is attached.

Thanks

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,431 Views)

Sigh.  I wish chip manufacturers would standardize their terminology for SPI and I²C.  Also, it really helps when dealing with SPI to have a colleague who has a fancy Digital Scope and digital probes that they can put on the SPI lines and look at CS, SCLK, MOSI, and MISO.

I do not understand your initialization sequence, nor do I completely understand what the Chip is supposed to do.

• Where do you do Chip Select?
  • Where do you set up the SPI clock and define whether you are employing Clock Mode 0 or Clock Mode 3?
  • I see where you MOSI the Reset command, but am not sure if you are supposed to MISO back anything.  How are you supposed to determine when/if the Reset is effective?
  • What are the other three Bytes, A, 4, and 0 that you are MOSI-ing to the Chip?