LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read and write from excel to excel

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I'm not a labview programmer, but as part of a study, I need to create a small program that opens an excel file, will pick the width and height values (columns F and G) according to my part number (column B) and write them to another file. I tried to manage alone with the read or writte spreadsheet tools, but I can't. Does anyone have an example?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,967 Views)

Hi PluG,

read that CSV file using ReadSpreadsheetFile/ReadDelimitedFile into a 2D array of strings.

Then filter that 2D array based on the values in the 2nd column (column B in Excel).

Then save the remaining rows to a new CSV file using WriteToSpreadsheetFile/WriteDelimitedFile…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,946 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author PluG_33

My guess, without seeing your code, is that you're not using the correct delimeter. That csv file is NOT a csv file. It is semicolon delimited, so you have to specify the semicolon as the delimiter. 

Message 3 of 5
(2,941 Views)

Thank you !

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(2,932 Views)

Expanding, slightly, on @jontrich1971, the extension ".csv" means "Comma-separated values", which, in turn, means a text file where a "delimiter" (such as a "comma") separates columns of (string) data, which can be numbers, booleans, character strings, etc. and lines of text define rows of data.  Microsoft Office has "high-jacked" this extension and given it an Icon that suggests it is an "Excel" file -- Excel knows how to read this type of Text file (but often needs to be told what character is being used as the delimiter, which seems to be a semi-colon in your case), but any routine that can read (and write) text files, even NotePad, can process this sort of file.