LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read all the files in a folder and more... HELP

Hi guys, I am new with LabVIEW and i need some help to get starded.

I have a folder with a lot of .txt files. 

1) First of all i have to find a way to open all them sequentially.

2) For each file i have to extract the name of the file opened and the value of the streses detected (SF PR [T]) and then i have to do a moving average with 2 elements and find the maximum and minumum value.

3) repeat the step #2 for each .txt file.

4) create an excel file/ csv file with the name of the file, the maximum value and the minumum value

ATTACHED YOU CAN FIND AN EXAMPLE OF THE .TXT FILE 

thanks a lot

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,658 Views)

Use List Folder function to get all the txt files from the folder then use a For Loop to open each file and get the data out. Your txt file seems to be of spreadsheet type with ";" delimiter so you can read them using Read Delimited Spreadsheet.vi. Find a way to get the SF PR [T] data out of the whole 2D array. If stuck, ask again for help but attach the VI so we can see what have you tried so far.

Lucian
CLA
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,629 Views)

Hi Gquadro,

LucianM already pointed out how to get a list of files and pass their paths to a For loop: use List Folder together with a pattern (*.txt) and then an autoindexing tunnel.

That solves your point #1.

For #2, you can use Strip Path to take just the filename. If you want it without the extension, take a look at the Get File Extension VI which outputs (from a path) the filename without extension as one of the outputs. You could optionally open this VI to see how it works, and copy only the parts you really need if you prefer.

The For loop covers #3.