From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read XML data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm new to Labview so apologies in advance if this seems like a simple question, but I have a configuration XML file that i will set various parameters within to control measurement equipment.

I have tried reading this XML file but i'm really struggling! I need to read the contents of the individual elements, and where applicable also count the number of elements.

Is there an easy way that I am able to achieve this? I've been playing around with this for a few days now and I still can't get what i'm looking for.

I'm currently running Labview 2016 (32 bit).

Thanks in advance! 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(13,316 Views)

It really helps us to help you if you show us what you are doing.  I assume you are trying to use some of the XML functions that come with LabVIEW -- attach your code so we can understand what you have tried.  It would also be helpful if you attached an XML file that you are trying to parse.

In addition to the XML functions that come with LabVIEW, there are several other XML systems compatible with LabVIEW that some of us have used.  However, we'd really need to see the XML file you are trying to read in order to suggest which you should try.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(13,305 Views)

Hi Bob,

Thanks for your prompt reply - I've attached a sample copy of my XML configuration file at its current state. I've had to upload it as a text document as this forum won't allow me to upload an XML file, however I am loading it into labview as an XML file.

The below is one example of many of which I have currently tried:

Sample XML trials.PNG

But I simply receive the error below:

XML error.PNG