LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Intermittent VISA errors -10073807194 'connection for given session has been lost'

Hi all, 

I'm new with LV and I'm trying to communicate with a GPIB device (rshmc8043) using a GPIB-USB-HS+

controller (as in the scheme attached).

I've tried to run a few examples:

1. rshmc804x_LV2010_Examples_2_0_0 from the manufacturer site:

https://scdn.rohde-schwarz.com/ur/pws/dl_downloads/dl_driver/powersupplies/rshm804x/examples_18/rshmc804x_LV2010_Examples_2_0_0.zip

I get these errors:

Code: -1073807302

VISA Write in Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:rsidr_core.lvlib:io_write.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:rsidr_core.lvlib:io_query.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:rsidr_core.lvlib:io_get_StatusByte.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:rsidr_core.lvlib:io_clear_before_read.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:rsidr_core.lvlib:io_clear_buffers.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:Initialize with Options.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:Initialize.vi->rshmc804x_LV2010_SimpleExampleOriginal.vi

and:

Error -1073807194 occurred at VISA Clear in Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:rsidr_core.lvlib:io_clear_buffers.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:Initialize with Options.vi->Rohde&Schwarz HMC 804x Power Supplies.lvlib:Initialize.vi->rshmc804x_LV2010_SimpleExampleOriginal.vi

Possible reason(s):

VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF00A6) The connection for the given session has been lost.

(Snapshots of the exact nodes are attached)

2. "GPIB with VISA functions" example didn't work either.

3. I'ts worth mentioning that I did succeed to establish a connection (not stable though) via :

-"Communicate with Instrument (SCPI commands)",

-"VISA Test Panel (non-SCPI commands)" and

-"VISA Interactive Control"

Is there a simple way to debug this or should I move to another interface?