LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ramp generating using NI 6211

Solved!
Go to solution

I am very new to Labview and I need some help here. Part of my aim is to generate a ramp signal for my scanner.

I searched the forum and found an answer which is not a bad fit for my aim (attached below). I have two questions: 

1. according to my understanding, the ramp by sample vi does not have anything to do with the infinite or finite samples, only DAQmx timing vi determines that. So if I change the finite samples to continuous samples, theoretically I should get the infinite ramps until I stop it. Is that right?

2. If I want the ramp (down part) goes down gradually (in this example, the down part is a purely vertical line, which means the voltage will go down from +10 v to 0v very quickly. And this will lead to mechanical problems to my scanner. ) How should I change the code?

Welcome to any suggestion! I appreciate the help in advance!

Penny

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,305 Views)

I searched the forum and found an answer which is not a bad fit for my aim (attached below). I have two questions: 

1. according to my understanding, the ramp by sample vi does not have anything to do with the infinite or finite samples, only DAQmx timing vi determines that. So if I change the finite samples to continuous samples, theoretically I should get the infinite ramps until I stop it. Is that right?

Yes, the DAQmx timing determines the timing for the output. That is taken from the dt of the waveform. For a continous output you have to change your VI, esp. you'll need a loop where you can stop your output. I suggest that you have a look at the examples in the NI example finder, there should be something for continous analog output there (cannot look up for myself currently as I don't have DAQmx installed).