LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RT——what's about the VI running in degug mode

I have a puzzle:   what's about the differrence between [Debug] mode and [Stande alone] mode ? Because of my working,  I need change the RT programe very often, so i would not like to run the RT programe in [Stand alone] mode   Will the [Debug ] mode influent the RT programe's efficecy???

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,908 Views)

I'm not completely sure I understand your question, so this answer might not be appropriate.

If you are developing a LabVIEW-RT program, you should be working in LabVIEW Project, running on a PC (or possibly a MAC, but I have no MAC experience).  In your Project, part of your code will live in the "My Computer" section -- call this the Host code.  The rest will live in what I'll call the "Remote" section, the section that is connected to your RT system.

When you are developing, you can test your Remote code in a manner similar to how you'd test Host code.  You Deploy it to the Remote system, then (on the Remote System part of Project) you open the VI you wish to monitor.  When you deploy it, it is not (yet) running, but if you go to the Front Panel of the top-level Remote VI, you can click the Run button and it will start to execute.  You can place probes, breakpoints, set Highlight Execution, etc.  You need to be aware, however, that anything that shows on your Host display requires TCP/IP traffic to the Remote, so the Remote might be running much more slowly.  However, if you are viewing something that only updates a few times per second, that should be less of a worry.