LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RT FIFO Single Element Variable is still buffering....

Solved!
Go to solution

First off I am new to LabView and cRIO...Core 1, Core 2, and RT 1 completed online. No other experience.

I have a cRIO 9074 with some local I/O also talking Modbus TCP to several slaves. 

I gleaned from my training that for RT systems (timed loops with unique priorities) shared vars should have RT FIFO enabled. So in this case the variable in question is....

I32

RT FIFO (Single Element)

Network Published (although no NI front panel or other system is consuming it - only for acces via distributed system manager) 

I am seeing buffering within the cRIO and I am not sure why it is taking place. And it is not desirable.

I was watching data from my inverter on my HMI (both ModbusTCP slaves - neither NI products), and I unplugged the ethernet cable from the inverter - yet the data on the screen was still updating as if the inverter was connected. So either the screen is buffering data, or the cRIO is. To find out which, I modified the inverter config slightly to have a pulse train into bit 0 the I32 value. Thus toggling it 0/1. I then placed an AND gate that would also add the pulse train into a more significant bit so the toggling number would then be 0/16385. I could then manipulate the AND gate in the inverter to send 0/1 or 0/16385 into the cRIO at will.

I placed a probe on a variable that is the modbus input from the inverter within a vi that parses the modbus array into my variables.
I placed a probe on the very same variable (read access mode) that sends that data to the screen within a vi that packs vars into an array for sending out the wire to the HMI.