LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RS232 XON/XOFF

Hi, NG!

I'm very new to labview... I try to communicate with a microcontroller by using the RS232
interface. All this happens on a windows box. Therefore I tried to use the serial init
and serial read vi. I'm not able to get it to work without XON/XOFF...

I suppose windows doesn't allow me a direct communication without
software handshake? Am I wrong?

Thanks Radek
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,434 Views)
The serial handshaking requirements will depend on how your microcontroller is set up. If the microcontroller requires XON/XOFF, then you'll need to use XON/XOFF (same for RTS/CTS). However, I haven't seen too many (if any?) microcontrollers that use XON/XOFF, so I'm curious as to what is going on.

As far as Windows goes, it doesn't care what the handshaking settings are. You just have to be sure that you are using the appropriate handshaking for your device (microcontroller).

Are you using the traditional serial vi's or are you using VISA?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(5,434 Views)
> The serial handshaking requirements will depend on how your
> microcontroller is set up. If the microcontroller requires XON/XOFF,
> then you'll need to use XON/XOFF (same for RTS/CTS). However, I haven't
> seen too many (if any?) microcontrollers that use XON/XOFF, so I'm
> curious as to what is going on.

On the controller I wrote two routines. The first uses XON/XOFF to
communicate with the PC and works fine, the
second doesn't use any handshake method and doesn't work. I suppose that
labview uses the windows low-level driver whitch seems to use XON/XOF by
default with no possibility to switch it off...
The XON/XOFF switch in the (traditional) serial init vi In the
traditional serial read vi has no effect on the communication.

> As far as Windows go
es, it doesn't care what the handshaking settings
> are. You just have to be sure that you are using the appropriate