LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QMH Template - UI Confusion

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, relative beginner here. I’ve inherited a project using the Queued Message Handler that needs some work and it also looks like a goof fit for a future project I have in mind. I’m getting confused in how the UI is set up using a typedef consisting of both controls and control refnums, but the event handler in the block diagram is interacting with a separate set of controls built on the front panel.

typedef.png

The above control does not appear on the front panel of Main.vi. I take it the control has been deliberately hidden (unattractive as it is)?

Main.vi has its own set of controls with the same names that I presume were placed separately. Let’s call these the interactive controls to (hopefully) make things clear.

frontpanel.png

The Initialize case in the message handler then connects references to the interactive controls with the refnums in UI Data.ctl using a Bundle by Name function. Does this just initialise the values in the refnums once, or does it make a permanent connection between the interactive controls and refnums that have come from UI Data.ctl?

blockdiagram.png

Last, but not least, when I go to edit the events handled by a case in the event handler, none of the controls from the typedef appear to be selectable events. Why is this?

events1.png

For reference, when I create a typedef from scratch (UI_buttons.ctl in this case) and pull it into Main.vi, all of the controls in the typedef appear as selectable event sources.

events2.png