LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PtbyPt editing with global variable?

Hey guys,

I'm wanting to setup a counter to count a crossing of a sinewave. The thing is, the sinewave is not zeroed. It's a sinewave of a cyclic load cell that I'm testing a material with. With this test, I will put load on the load cell, then cycle from that position, which is my realitive zero.

So, say I put 0.043 volts on the load cell. I would then cycle the material at a certain strain both ways horizontally, and this "0.043" would be my zero for the crossing. I've included my Vi so you can see what's happening in the "strain" and "stress" state. These states are independant from eachother and don't work together in anyway. They're just recording data on different channels

Is there a way I can edit the Pt2Pt vi to look at this "0.043" value (which is an analog channel)? I was thinking global variable...or...something simpler I could put in my code. I'm still a novice in all this and I would greatly appreciate some advice.

Kindly

Gary S.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(2,500 Views)

If all you're after is a "zero" crossing, couldn't you just subtract the DC offset?

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
Message 2 of 17
(2,493 Views)

Hi Gary,

usually you store that "offset" value in a shift register and subtract it from your current reading to eliminate offset later on...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 3 of 17
(2,490 Views)