From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programmable power supply

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I want to design control software for my power supply which has serial interface, but the communication protocol is non-standard so i cannot find any driver for it, I only have serial communication command set, I'm very new at LabView and I dont know where to start, commands are looking simple, just set voltage/current and read output - disable/enable output and read CC-CV state, should I create driver first refer to command set? Or how can I define these non-standard command set? Please can you help me? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,540 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author BerkayBtr

I would start by making a VI for each of these commands.  I would also go so far as to make this into a class so that the class can hold the VISA Session and the "machine address".  You could even make a VI for that prepends the machine address and Line Feed (\n) and write to the supply.  I would also make a VI that sends a command and then reads the reply.  You can use these two lower level VIs in each of your other VIs for each command.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 11
(2,525 Views)

It sounds like you should probably start with establishing communication with the device using a simple VI, which will show you how to use the nodes you need. I'd look at the basic example you can find by going to Help-Find Examples and browsing here:

avogadro5_0-1649372755897.png