LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producer consumer continous data retrieval

Hello All,

I am using a producer/ consumer pattern to continuously get data. in consumer loop, i am using a state machine in which i try to use this data. But the problem is that when i start state machine, the incoming data is stopped. I need this data while state machine is running. I am new to Labview, does not know much. A help will be highly appreciated.

Regards, 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,489 Views)

Ok, so firstly, good job with commenting up some of your code, and attaching the whole project rather than broken bits and pieces.

With regards to your problem, you have the dequeue element outside all of your cases. This means that will dequeue one element of the queue per iteration of the outer loop.

When you press Standard Test, you enter a new loop, which waits for M1's local variable read to be between 59.9 and 60.1. This condition will never be satisfied since a) M1 is generated between 0 and 10, and b) only one value of M1 (the current value) is considered - the dequeue won't be used again until the end of the inner loop's event, which never happens, because the loop in the middle never stops.

You need to dequeue inside the inner loop if you want new values, and you need the condition to at some point be true to ever get out of the inner loop.

You also have a compound arithmetic OR on a single value. This does nothing! 🙂

GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,476 Views)

Dear cbutcher,

Thank you so much for your kind and quick reply. I understand the values are mistakenly wrong, it should be between 0-10. But the main problem is to get values continuously. I put dequeue elements inside case selector, but still the problem persists. Or i could not understand your point- sorry for that. I have attached snapshot of changes. Kindly have a look.

Plz ignore any stupid questioning from my side.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(3,467 Views)