cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with reading from VISA

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

So I'm very new to LabView, But I've been searching this forum for a few days now and I couldn't find anything helpful, apologies if this is already answered somewhere else. 

I'm trying to control a Velmex stepper motor with Labview. The VI generates a string based on user inputs (1D or 2D movement, dimensions, speed, etc.) and sends the string to the device, then sends the run command and waits for the movement to finish. What I'm trying to do is to read the motor position from the controller, preferably in real time. The first attached image (labview_block_diagram.png) shows what I'm using right now. It sends an "X" command to the controller, and then reads the response. Note that this runs before anything else is sent to the device. When I run this VI, this is what I see. Basically, the correct value is read somehow, but not the correct number of digits are being shown (I guess?). When I send the same command through Velmex's software (COSMOS), I get the right value (see the second attached image, blue text is sent to the device and yellow text is read from the device). I think I'm somehow messing up the read timing and the number of bytes to be read, can anyone advice on how to solve this issue?

Any help is much appreaciated. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,447 Views)

Hi,

You hsould try to determine if the data sent by your Velmex is having a termination character.

If so, set the same character as the termination character of your session (Using VISA Configure port fiunction) and Enable Termination Character. Then write and read (as you do today), read will wait for the termination character, and you'll get your value.

Otherwise, be sure to read the correct number of bytes (which is returned by the read function) after your write.