From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with intensity graph

Hey,

I'm new to labview and am currently working on making an interface for a scanner. This scanner will at every xy coordinate, obtain a z values and I would like to put these three values into an intensity graph. I have successfully done this up to 101x101 values but at big scanned areas like  201x201 values, the intensity graph will show suddenly show a blank graph halfway thorugh the scan.

For my setup, I used an initialized array where I placed a 2D array and connect it to a replace array subset in a for loop. I connected the XY coordinates into the indexes and connected the z values into the new element / subset. I then connect the output array into the intensity graph.

Can anyone help me with this? Is this a problem due to insufficient memory?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,772 Views)

No, you must be doing something wrong, but it is hard to tell without seeing code.

(An intensity graph is never "blank". What if you also place a 2D array indicator (with scrollbars) next to it to see how the data actually looks like? Do you autoscale the Z axis? Maybe there is a point that is way off scale, drowning out all other points? What is the datatype of the graph? What does the z data represent (U8 greysscale? U32 RGB? DBL?)

When the graph turns "blank", can you stop the VI, right-click the graph and "data operations...make current value default", save the VI under a new name, and attach it here?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,761 Views)

Thank you for your reply

An intensity graph is never "blank".