From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem about asynchronous call: subVI front panel doesn't pop up when called.

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear All,

I'm new to LabVIEW, and this is the first time I try to use the asynchronous call.

I'm using LabVIEW 2011.

I want to build a directory for several VIs, and it should allow users to open more than one of the VIs at the same time by pushing the buttons. Before building this directory, I simply tried to use asynchronous call to call a VI form another VI, but found a big problem.

I followed the steps in the help file, created a strictly typed reference, set the option to x80 because I don't need the return. When I run it for the first time, it worked fine: the subVI popped up and run. Then I closed the subVI. But for the sencond time and on, when I run the caller VI, the subVI didn't pop up, instead it seemed to run silently on background because when I manually opened it from the file I found it running. Besides, I didn't find any option like "show front panel when called" of the asynchronous call.

The caller VI and subVI are attached. The address of subVI in caller VI should be changed accordingly.

What should I do to make it work properly? Thanks very much for  any idea!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,048 Views)

Hi linjxz,

when I run your example VIs as they are the subVI doesn't open, even on first call…

But as soon as I change the subVI settings to "Open FP when called" and "Close afterwards" it behaves like you want it to!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 11
(6,032 Views)

Hello GerdW,