LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plot counter output

Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie at Labview, so my question will probably seem very simple to you!!

I wish to control external hardware using a counter; I have achieved this by using the NI example .vi 'Gen Dig Pulse Train-Continuous.vi' (please see attached) and everything looks and works fine.  However, I want to see the counter output also, in say a waveform graph.  I have attempted to attach in the usual generic plots and connect it up at various points in the code but nothing has worked.

Any ideas?  I'd be very appreciative!

Miika

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,784 Views)

Hello Miika,

to see the actual output of the counter you will have to connect the output terminal of the counter to a digital input on your device and set up digital data acquisition task. You will find numerous examples about it in the Example Finder. Also check this page for more information.

Daniel

Dániel Fülöp
Field Application Engineer (CLA, CTA)
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,779 Views)

Hi Daniel,

Thanks you for your response. 🙂

Can you suggest a specific example?  I have been looking and am unsure what to be searching for.

I have tried writing a different code (DAQ assistant) but I still cannot generate an output.

Kind regards,

Miika

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,764 Views)

Hello Miika,