cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help! Experiment to measure contact resistance in relay contacts

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am completely new to Labview and have been asked to try and use the software and hardware to develop a VI for measuring how the contact resistance of relay contacts degrades over thousands of cycles.  I have managed to interface a NI cDAQ-9172 containing  NI 9219 and NI9472 modules and can access them through the DAQ Assistant.

What I would like to know is, how I can turn the relay I'm testing on and off using a pulse and keeping a count of the operations and at the same time take a measurement (this may be every 100 or 1000 cycle) and log it as a ASCII data file?

All I have at present is the NI documentation and a book called Labview for Engineers and Scientists by John Essick, which I'm slowly working through.

Is this sort of VI difficult task?

Best regards,

Andy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,865 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author andywileman

You can have a digital task as well as an analog input task running on the same chassis.  You have just toggle the digital output to cycle the relay and read with your analog inputs.

Most DIO do not have enough current to drive a relay, so you might want to get a digital buffer that can supply enough current for your relay.

Oh, and check out the free online training modules

3 Hour Introduction
6 Hour Introduction
LabVEW Basics
Self Paced training for students
Self Paced training beginner to advanced, SSP Required
LabVIEW Wiki on Training
Learning NI
Getting Started with NI Products

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,856 Views)
Solution