LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pipeline leak in VI

Im a college student with a study of "Design of a water distribution system with leak detection using LabVIEW". Is there any toolkit that can apply leak on pipelines in VIs? We will not have a prototype so is there any toolkit that can visualize the leak for simulation? Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,938 Views)

I'm thinking flow - flow * random number ought to simulate a leak between ultra slow drip and open pipe.

There is always a leak.  You usually can't detect the single molecules transpiring through the pipe wall.  Define a threshold for "Leak that warrants repair."

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,911 Views)

I can tell you are not a BME major -- they sometimes study "fluid distribution systems" (heart and blood vessels" and usually make analogies with what they learned in Electronics 101, something about Kirckhoff and his Laws (or InLaws, maybe).  If you were trying to deliver electrons to a load (say, a motor or a light bulb), what would constitute a "leak"?  [I've heard that a Very Big Leak is called a Short Circuit ...].  Simulate the "leak" by having a thin, tiny pipe that lets the fluid leak out onto the ... hmm, what do you call it?  Oh, the Ground ...

Bob Schor

Message 3 of 13
(2,892 Views)

@Bob_Schor wrote:

I can tell you are not a BME major -- they sometimes study "fluid distribution systems" (heart and blood vessels" and usually make analogies with what they learned in Electronics 101, something about Kirckhoff and his Laws (or InLaws, maybe).  If you were trying to deliver electrons to a load (say, a motor or a light bulb), what would constitute a "leak"?  [I've heard that a Very Big Leak is called a Short Circuit ...].  Simulate the "leak" by having a thin, tiny pipe that lets the fluid leak out onto the ... hmm, what do you call it?  Oh, the Ground ...

Bob Schor