LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pilot a power supply

Hello,

I am in internship and I have to pilot a power supply at first step, it is my first work on Labview... I am a very early beginner.

So my questions are:

- What are the main steps to do it? (I have dl the driver for my power supply GWInstek GPD-2303.)

- Is there any exemple that is similar? (I looked in help and forum)

Here is the program that I have started (link in the description)

Best regards,

Robin.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(4,036 Views)

I'm certain other users in the forum will also tell you to first take the beginners' courses, since you will need that knowledge for your project. Also we're missing a lot of information, what is the interface you're using to interact with your power supply? Possible types are RS232, Ethernet, MODBUS, etc. Read the documentation provided by manufacturer, and work with that.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 23
(4,027 Views)

Hello,

Hum, then I will try to take time for it tomorrow. I have only 2 months to make my entire project... To interact with my power supply I'll use USB. I don't know what can be useful in the documentation provided by manufacturer, but well I'm going to look for it.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 23
(4,022 Views)

Did the drivers come with any examples?

If working from scratch, I would use an Event Structure to catch the value changes of your various parameters and set the values using the appropriate driver VIs.  In the timeout case, read the measurements.

And since you are brand new to LabVIEW, I suggest going through some of the tutorials (most of which are completely free)

6 Hour Introduction
LabVEW Basics
Self Paced training for students
Self Paced training beginner to advanced, SSP Required
LabVIEW Wiki on Training
Learning NI
Getting Started with NI Products

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines