LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Periodically read data from a DAQmx channel/task without disrupting data acquisition

Hi - LabVIEW newbie here, trying to modify an existing program designed to log 50,000 data points which are generated by sampling at 100Hz for 500 seconds.  It would be immensely helpful if I could somehow poll this data every 5 or 10 seconds to see how the experiment is progressing WITHOUT jeopardising the contiguity of data being logged in the main buffer. I really hope there is a simple way to do this!  The important DAQ components are included in the attached JPEG.

Thanks in advance!

SO FAR:

So far I've tried to do this by generating a new channel/task (by copying the one being passed to the clock/counter setup and running the task through a sample clock running with a shorter window - i.e. "please tell me what you've got once every 100 data points"), but this seems a deadend because I don't think it's possible to carry out two tasks simultaneously. I think this may be the crux of the problem...

Right now my jerry-rigged solution has been to simply run the whole thing inside a For loop and poll every 100 data points so I can see what's happening up on screen quickly, but this is quite certain to break the contiguity of my data set and so is absolutely useless for simulataneously seeing what's happening AND data logging.  I'd love to be able to data log AND see periodic polling of what I have so far.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,166 Views)

Hi there,

Certainly you can.

Have a look at the "Count Digital Events -- Buffered Continuous -- Ext Clk" example.  (Find Examples...Hardware Input and Output...DAQmx...Counter Measurements...Count Digital Events...)