LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Parallel loops in Queued State Machine not running independently

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to Queued message handlers in Labview but I'm trying to learn to use them as I believe they're more suitable to what I develop. Im try to create a relatively simple program that will detect if a signal exceeds a threshold over a period of time, after ignore the signal startup. I had a version of that working using the QSM template provided (here). 

Eventually I need to get this same process to happen across simultaneous loops (5+) that can be started and stopped independently for different data sources. 

My first stab was to duplicate the main loop with differently named states, assuming that differently named messages in the queues would kick off the different states of the machine independently. Note, I'm sure even this method is ugly by any standard, but walk before you run and all that. 

However, in trying to implement this, I've noticed that starting one loop immediately kicks off both loops, despite the state machines being named differently. When I try to highlight execution, it seems like the lower loop is indeed waiting for the "Initialize2" message, however, in full execution it doesn't seem to work that way. Any guidance? 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,035 Views)

I'll; have a look later, but your time indicator won't update until the loops have finished. If you want to see updated values, the terminals belong inside the loop. Also latch action terminals belong inside the respective event cases.

Your dequeue functions wait forever or until a new element is enqueued, preventing the consumer loops from spinning most of the time.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,029 Views)