LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PCIe 6363

Hi, 

I am new to use NI PCIe-6363. I would like to use it to generate a clock singal and some bit string as an input of my registors (e.g. Scan Chain).  I am wondering which type of outputs I should use, analogy or digital? If I use digital, then how can I define the high level voltage of digitial signal. When I look at a Labview example of digital output from PCIe6363 in NI example. There is no input papramter which is required to define the VIH.

Does the digital output always generate bit in boolean? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,163 Views)

Hi Jennie,

digital IO uses TTL levels - as is written in the manual of the PCIe6363!

When you need other levels you need to build up a PCB with some electronics…

Does the digital output always generate bit in boolean?

That's the purpose of digital IO: working with boolean signals…

generate a clock singal and some bit string

A clock usually is a boolean signal - use one of the counters on your DAQ device.

A "bit string" should be a boolean waveform in LabVIEW…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,129 Views)

If I generate a clock, how can I verify if it's correct or not? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,081 Views)
Connect a scope up or loop the signal back into the DAQ card.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(4,071 Views)

I tried it. I use one PFI (e.g. PFI 12) to generate a clock. Then wire it to another PFI (e.g. PFI 14) as an input and monitor the width of input pulse or counter the edges of it. I added an indicator at the output of the DAQ assistant. I got nothing. 

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 10
(4,064 Views)
Either you've programmed the generation or acquisition incorrectly. Since you have not attached your code, it's impossible to say which.
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 10
(4,046 Views)

Hi Dennis