From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Online Data Acquisiton Median Average Problem

Solved!
Go to solution

To begin with, I am extremely new to Labview and its different applications. I would really appreciate it if you can answer accordingly. In my experimental setup, I am trying to record 5 different thermocouple measurements and log them into a single file. I am collecting the data using a DAQcard. By following some tutorials I was able to do this in a simple manner, although it might not be code efficient. My problem is trying to apply a median filter to the online incoming data and save it. What I mean by this is: I would like to collect thermocouple measurements at 1000 Hz (1000 data points every second) and find the median value of this 1000 data set and log it in the file as a single datum for that recorded second. I would like to continue doing this every second for all the coming online data. By using a similar problem in this forum, I was somewhat able to median average the data, but I was not able to save it properly because of the loop and case structures. Can anyone point me in the correct direction? Also I would really appreciate all the possible improvements for the general program.

In the beginner's code I am attaching, I was able to get the median for the selected window size of incoming data and display it; however I was not able to write this information in the log file in any way I tried. Please let me know if I should attach anything else than the program itself.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,569 Views)

Cleaning up your diagram us Control+U or Edit > Clean Up Diagram may make your VI a bit more compact and easy to read.