LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One data point every 10 seconds. How can I smooth the data in "real time"?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I have a program that returns one data point every 10 seconds (particle size data). As the data points scatter quite a bit, I would like to perform a smoothing on the data. I used a pre-recorded data set to determine which smoothing algortihm works best (I used OriginPro 9 for that). The best results I get with a Savitzky Golay filter.

Is it possible to implement such a filter to take into account the last couple of values and return the smoothed value?

An do that repeatedly until the process is finished. I am afraid that this is not possible. Yet, I am not very experienced with LabVIEW and hope I am wrong 🙂

It would be great if someone of you could help me.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(4,214 Views)

Shift register with preallocated array and replace array subset method to put new value into the array.

As you most likely do not require a ring buffer (assumption: index position is important for you!), you can rotate the array and replace the most current value [N-1].

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
Message 2 of 15
(4,198 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Qbach

You even do not need to program this feature yourself. It is already implemented in LV (Signal Processing, Point By point, Other Functions):

dataqueue.png

Message 3 of 15
(4,176 Views)

Nice one, Blokk.... never looked into that subpalette 🙂

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(4,174 Views)

Thank you, Blokk and Norbert,