From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Omron E5CC Temp Controller Modbus Reading Registers

I'm new to Modbus and I'm having trouble communicating with my Omron E5CC temp controller via RS 485 and Modbus.  I've downloaded the free LV Modbus library and I believe I'm using the proper RS 485 comm spec's.  I created a simple vi (create serial slave, read holding registers, slave shutdown) to read the PV. I can't figure out what "starting address" I should use to read the PV.  In the end I need to read and set the temperature.  The Omron manual refers to "reading variables" is that the same as "reading registers"?  

Seems like the addresses in the Omron manual are in HEX should I use "RTU" and input the addresses as HEX or is LV doing a conversion in the read registers block?  I'm worried I'm not using the proper address format or number system.

Is there any command I can use to verify I'm communicating with the device to isolate the problem to just identifying the right register?

Any help would be appreciated I realize it is hard to help without the hardware.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(8,065 Views)

Hi Merlin,

Unfortunately the free Modbus APIs aren’t officially supported. Would you happen to have access to either of the paid options?

Modbus I/O Servers
http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/370622M-01/lvmve/dsc_modbus_using/

Modbus VIs
http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/370622P-01/lvmve/modbus_pal/

If the free API is using VISA calls under the hood (which I believe it is), then you could utilize I/O trace to look at the actual commands that are being sent to your device:

Performing a Good NI I/O Trace Capture for Debugging/Troubleshooting