LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd file locations in Files view of Project Explorer

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a novice, trying to straighten out some dll and cross linking issues in an inhereted LabVIEW 2017 set of code consisting of many lvproj files, vi's and subvi's, and dll's.

I've run into something odd: When I look at one of the projects I've been trying to fix in the Items view of Project Explorer, under Dependencies the main dll is listed four times, all with "Warning: has been deleted, renamed, or moved on disk".

When I then look at the project in the Files view of Project Explorer, I see that two of these instances are listed under C:\Users\MyName, where MyName is my own Windows login, under subdirectories where they were earlier today. So that makes sense.

But the other two instances are listed under C:\Users\AnotherPersonsName, where AnotherPerson is no longer at the company. He wrote the version of the software that I checked out from version control and am editing on my machine.

Why would his local path be listed for the dll? 

Also, all 4 listings of the dll in Dependencies say there are "No Callers", but I can't figure out how to delete them from Dependencies. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,269 Views)

Sigh.  Getting files "lost" and (at a later time "restored") in a LabVIEW Project can be something of a challenge.  For this reason, I try to keep all of the files I need for my Project within my Project file, unless they are in a known Library that is installed on all of the Target machines.

I usually do this "manually", a file at a time.  The question about a path apparently "hard-coded" in a DLL may mean that the path was hard-coded into the DLL.  If so, you may need to open and edit the DLL itself.  [I recall, vaguely, seeing something like this when using third-party drivers that similarly used absolute path names, making it hard to use them).

Bob Schor

Message 2 of 6
(1,261 Views)