cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OWON Oscilloscope "Insufficient Location Information" in LabVIEW driver

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

Hoping you can help me out with a problem we are having with USB connection to an OWON oscilloscope. I'm an undergraduate student with about three months experience in LabVIEW so I could easily be misunderstanding something (tho obviously I don't think I am).

Here's the details:

The connection is directly USB.

OWON supplied software communicates and retrieves data from the scope just fine.

OWON supplied labVIEW driver gives error "-1073807343 Insufficient location information" when run.

MAX also gives same error when "Open VISA test panel" is attempted.

COM3 > Serial and Parallel > Devices and Interfaces > MAX shows yellow warning

ASRL10::INSTR "COM3" > Devices and Interfaces > MAX is red and states "status not present"

Ports in Device Manager show "(Code 34) - Windows cannot determine settings for this device"

I have installed:

OWON driver according to the manufacturer instructions (the supplied software does not work without this installed so I think this is installed correctly?)

NI-VISA 5.0.3

LabVIEW 2016 Student Edition

Windows 8.1 (64-bit)

It may be incorrect but my first attempt at determining a culprit is the VISA resource name typed into the LabVIEW VI. When the driver example is opened, the VISA resource is automatically called "USB0::0x5345::0x1234::VDS3104::RAW" which seems to mirror the accepted pattern according to the internet.

Thank you for taking your time to help me. I appreciate any help and feedback and would gladly add any more details that ya'll see fit.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,674 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author tbworld

Your NI-VISA is too old.  Read

Install VISA 16.0.

I'm not sure how you managed to install such an old version of VISA assuming you had discs for the newer LV 2016.
Message 2 of 9
(5,646 Views)