From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Novice Needs Some Guidance

Hello All,

I'm just getting started with LabView, and could use some direction on a project. I'm looking more for guidance on how my application should be developed as opposed to specifics about individual features (although that may come later). I want to make sure that things get laid out logically, and that there isn't a pile of unnecessary code. Here's what I've got:

I'm using LabView 2010 Developer Suite for Windows, along with CompactDAQ hardware. I've got a mixture of about 50 thermocouple, voltage and current channels.  I plan on about 20 different screens or pages in the application, each showing both graphical and numerical displays of an assortment of these data channels. Each channel will go to more than one screen, and will be combined with a variety of other channel data depending on the particular screen. For example, screen A might have temperatures channels 1-8, while screen B might have temperature channels 5-8 along with analog current channels 32-36. One screen will simply show numeric data of all channels.

The process is fairly slow, so updates every few seconds should be sufficient. The only data analysis required will be high and low alarm limits on most channels.

Finally, I'd like to write all data, in a simple tabular format, to Microsoft Excel for archival purposes and sharing with an Engineering group. These data can be written at 30, or even 60, second intervals.

That's it in a nutshell. Any advice you can provide to help me keep this clean and simple would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,571 Views)

Hi Mike,