From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not Enough Memory to Complete this Operation - LabVIEW

Hi,

This is my first time running in to this issue where after some time (~15 minutes for my VI) a dialog box pops up with the message "Not enough memory to complete this operation" (without any error codes).

The VI is a simple data acquisition VI that monitors and records data. After configuring the channels in two synchronized tasks (one analog and one digital). It reads the data at 50kHz sampling frequency in one loop and puts the data in a queue. The other parallel loop reads the data and has two case structures. First case structure is user controlled that writes data to a .tdms file for it's true case. For it's false case, it decides the group name for next recording. The other case structure automatically updates the graphs (for specific data) once every one second.

I am using cDAQ-9179, NI-9361, NI-9229, (x3) NI-9215, and (x3) NI-9213. The computer is a 64-bit operating system with 32GB physical RAM, and core i7 with 1.9GHz. 

I have written similar VIs before but never had this issue. I was not able to find anything already on the forums to help me with this issue. From my troubleshooting, all I have been able to "troubleshoot" so far is that memory keeps growing in task manager for this process associated with LabVIEW and once it hits ~3GB, the dialog box with not enough memory message appears.

Any help or suggestions will be really appreciated. Thanks!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,712 Views)

I'm at a too old LV to look at the code, but 32 bit LV can only address 3GB memory with normal settings. So so far all is normal.