From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noise Interactions between TC-2095 and BNC-2090A

Ok...first things first...my setup is as follows:

PXI-1050 (PXI/SCXI COMBO CHASSIS)
SLOT1 - PXI8110 (controller)
SLOT2 - PXI4110 (DC power supply)
SLOT3 - PXI6123 (s-series)
SLOT4 - PXI6704 (analog output)
SLOT8 - PXI6229 (m-series)
SCXI, SLOT1 - SCXI1102

BNC-2090A (X2) - hooked up to M-SERIES card
TC-2095 - hooked up to SCXI1102

LabVIEW 8.6, DAQmx 8.9

So on to business...I am relatively new to LabVIEW.  The issue I am having I can best describe as noise, though it may not be actually noise.  As the VI and equipment setup stands, everything seems to be functioning correctly, but no actual voltages have been read through the BNC ports.  No cables are plugged in at all with the exception of one thermocouple I have wired up to test the thermocouple channels.  The channels I have set up to use in the current VI are Voltages from the M-series card channels 1-20 and thermocouple channels 0-5,31.  When I have the VI running and plug the thermocouple into channels 0-4 on the TC-2095, there are no effects noticed anywhere else in the VI.  All remains steady.  However, when I plug the thermocouple into channel 5 OR 31 of the TC-2095, ALL voltages (M-Series 1-20) make a jump down that appears the same over all channels. This jump is 2V for channel 5 and 3-4V on channel 31.  When I unplug the thermocoupe , all returns to normal.  ALL jumpers on the front are set to Differential mode and ALL jumpers on the rear are in their factory configurations (ON for floating signals and ON for open thermocouple detection).  None have been touched.   I am thoroughly confused.